San Diego Defense Pros
(619) 215-1575

Little to no Money Down


Affordable Payment Plans Available

Criminal Defense Information Center
Assault
Domestic Violence
Drug Crimes
DUI
Expungements
Federal Crimes
Petty Theft
Probation Violations
Sex Crimes
Contact Us Today
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:
we accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover!

San Diego DUI Lawyer

Effective Defense in Southern California

Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in San Diego is a serious matter. If you have been accused of DUI, you face serious consequences and could potentially lose your driving privileges. Conviction could have an extremely detrimental effect on your future. It is important to retain an experienced and trusted San Diego criminal defense lawyer for your DUI case. Remember, a DUI charge will initiate two separate legal processes. Your attorney can represent you both at your court appearance and at your hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

DMV Hearing for DUI

Upon arrest for DUI, you only have 10 days to schedule a DMV hearing . If you do not schedule this hearing, your driver's license will be automatically suspended after 30 days. Your DMV hearing is your opportunity to fight to preserve your driving privileges. If you fail to reach out to the DMV to schedule this hearing before the 10 days are up, you will automatically forfeit your right to this hearing. A first offense for a DUI carries a license suspension of four to six months, but if this is your second DUI offense within the last decade, you could lose your license for one year. In addition, if you did not submit to chemical testing for blood alcohol content percentage, you may also lose your license for one year.

DUI Criminal Court Appearance

In addition to your DMV hearing, it is important to have strong legal representation on your side for your DUI court appearance. In most cases, DUI is considered a misdemeanor offense. For a first offense, you could be forced to pay up to $1,500 in fines, give up your license for a temporary period, and even serve a jail sentence. Second and subsequent DUI convictions carry stronger penalties.

In some cases, a DUI can be classified as a felony offense, such as if:

  • This DUI is the fourth or more DUI or "wet reckless" conviction you have received within the last 10 years
  • You have been convicted of a felony DUI in the past
  • The incident caused the death or injury of another person

San Diego DUI Attorneys offer a complimentary consultation!

At San Diego Defense Pros, we understand that everyone makes mistakes. This may be your first arrest, and you may be feeling intimidated and scared. Let us help! Our team of San Diego dui attorneys is prepared to fight for your rights and your freedom in order to help you stay on the road. When you call us, we can schedule your free case evaluation with a DUI attorney in Southern California. Call our San Diego law firm today and learn more about how we can help you.

Resources

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information, and the submission of any e-mails, do not create an attorney-client relationship.
(619) 215-1575